just some sites doing some fun stuff

These are some great sites around the web which will keep you amused when you need a 30 second break from clients, management, or anything really:

  • notalwaysright – tales from dealing with customers
  • fmylife – some people need to tell the world how badly they stuffed up
  • textsfromlastnight – stories from the morning after the night before

After another night at work, these are the bookmarks which start to get me vaguely sane again. They’re all nice short’n’sharp punchlines, which mean you don’t get distracted all day.

I’m wondering how the rumours about the “new” iPhone are going to develop over the next weeks. I have my suspicions that Apple’s going to do their usual and ride the rumour train, before doing nothing. Then, once the disappointment’s settled, pull out something and WOW! the world. Either that, or Apple’s other trick of not doing much but making us consumers feel like we didn’t want anything more….I’m not knocking Apple, far from it, I appreciate the brilliance of a machine that can define a culture and do so in such a manner that we beg to be led further.

I still have yet to get my first Mac (I do have an iPod), so I feel allowed to approve aspects of Apple’s philosophy without falling into “fanboi” territory. I’m sure I can talk about this more another post, so I’ll leave it here.

My biggest rave at the moment has to be for the whole Wordpress thing. I only looked at it for the first time earlier today, when I decided to play with it on one of my virtual servers….”bloody marvellous” I said after about 5 minutes, then I set about getting it all together and starting my own. Here it is, and I hope it doesn’t fall apart in 3 days like half of these blogs seem to. I have started building other pages for the blog too, but they’re still works in progress, so no public touchy till I’m satisfied!! I’m still surfing through the themes available to me, and trying to find that balance between the look I want and the functionality and display characteristics I desire – have no fear, I will prevail.

Anyway, peace out for tonight, and I’ll be back with more brilliance tomorrow.

Opening Post….

Hello World!

Gotta start with that to be true to my CS leanings. This is my freshly started blog to chronicle my “exciting” life, but mainly to give me a forum to share stuff with the world. You know, cool sites I’ve found, neat code snippets I find or make, random tech or other news, basically anything that tickles my fancy.