another day in the life

Well, today I had to knock out an assignment in Java. I’d already done 99% of it, just had to confirm the linking back to the mySQL DB and ensure it error handled from command line. I managed to trigger almost every error message Java has, which was made less exciting because I haven’t used Java in a while. All the syntactical issues jumped up and bit me (eg ‘String’ vs ‘string’, variable types changing…) because I’ve been playing in C# and PHP all the time. My Javascript stuff kept me in good stead though. In the end though, I am not complaining about the jdbc stuff, it’s just as reasonable as PHP’s connections and calls, I’m just out of the habit.

Just to point out this year’s Stella Awards, courtesy of the good guys at dailyfailblog. Knock yourself out! Then sue.

In other parts of my day, I also found the time to get dynamic generation and downloading of files up and running for my new site (announcement soon….), and got these working for .pdf, .xls, and .csv. I have to say, it is kinda simple now that I’ve done it, but the journey was interesting. I’ll be posting some tutorials/code samples to a page on here in the next few days, and I’ll edit a link into this post. I was going to have them all with the option to open in a new page as well, but this is only really viable for .pdf, as .xls and .csv both require Excel or similar installed on the user machine, as well as then wanting to open the document outside the browser (.pdf still requires a reader, but most browsers have this, and it opens inside the browser window). I’m going to look further into linking this opening into pointing at Google Docs for example, but at the moment that’s on stand-by.

Other than that, I’ve just been tweaking the whole flow side of things, and testing and re-testing the security of my DB calls etc. It’s not like my site’s going to be “high-security”, but every site gets hacked so it’s silly to not be pro-active. On that note, a couple of great articles on PHP security are here, written by Dave Clark, and here, written by Pax Dickinson. These are five-to-ten minute reads, but are both excellent for reviewing your existing knowledge or building it up some more.

The rest of this week’s post are either going to get fairly sparse, or just be quick updates because, being final lecture week, the assignments are snow-balling. My only real distractions from these are going to be playing with cronjobs for the new site.

Anyway, to end today’s post, this video isn’t gross, but it’ll still make you squeemish. It’s worth watching, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

and, this guy has the “worst” job in the world….

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

One Response to another day in the life

  1. Duane Haas says:

    Thanks for the promo! I love that video too, Its almost sickening. Very solid blog, I actually signed up for the feed to see what else you have to say. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

