it’s a Saturday

The first topic today is a sad one. I obviously didn’t know him, but Rajeev Motwani passed away today. He was an increasingly well known figure, having mentored two guys called Larry and Sergei; as well as being a beloved professor at Stanford, and helping to develop and mentor start-ups in Silicon Valley. I’ll just link to a post by a close friend of his, so that my words do not belittle the man.

Today I have put a bit of work into sorting out connecting back and forward from PayPal, and getting to understand their API. While nowhere near being a PayPal guru yet, I have successfully sorted the small bits I needed to implement for the site. Also sorted dynamically generated links to allow users to auto-link from the site directly into various social networking sites. Now that’s done the trouble is narrowing doen which sites to do it for….I’ve now sorted 13 (yep, thirteen!) different social network/bookmarking sites, and that’s when I stopped and couldn’t be bothered going further. I have a feeling I’m going to link in some more anyway, but first I have to decide on a nice presentation, ’cause I don’t want to display them all at once….

But, my big news of the day is finding a way to auto redirect a web-page on a timer. Wow I hear you say, that’s incredible!! Yep. I know, it sounds so basic, and it actually is. What’s special about this is that it uses no PHP, no Javascript, in fact nothing but one line of good ol’ fashioned HTML code!! The amazing thing is, and it was noted in a thank-you on the forum post I found it in, that it’s nowhere to be found on the ‘net except the post in question (and now in this blog). Anyway, here’s the script:
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="10;url=somepage.php">
see! Really simple, and effective too. You can use it as an optional escape script with PHP, ie just run
<?php
if(something is/isn't set) {
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="10;url=somepage.php">
}
?>

at the beginning of the <head> element, and echo the meta-element if required.

I’ve still got to go back and play with my email componentry, and get the attachments tying in properly, but, one thing at a time. I’ll be focussing back into assignments ’til Monday night now, so no more web type work for a little bit.

To end with something to laugh about, check out this story from The Onion – America’s Finest News Source. The US Dept. of Transport says to “honk” in order to get through slow, or annoying, traffic jams!!

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

