first post from Australia

After the flight yesterday (Tuesday 7am) – I do NOT recommend going 36 hours with no sleep and then flying cattle-class!! – I finally arrived in Australia. Picked up the rental car from Hertz, and they even gave me a free upgrade of one level. Went on a tiki tour up from Brisbane to the Sunshine Coast. Ended up having lunch in Caloundra, and then a quick nap ’cause I was shattered by then. Drove back down the line, and arrived at Michelle and Kristian’s place about 7pm. Great to see them again!! Had dinner, then pretty much made a move for bed.

Today (Wednesday) Naomi and I headed down south a bit, and went to Movie World. FANTASTIC!!! The Lethal Weapon ride was closed, but still a great day. I have to say the Scooby-Doo Coaster was the best of it all. A roller-coaster which goes backward for a bit, as well as being predominantly inside a pitch black building. Very cool, as coasters can throw you around, and swoop and drop; but in the pitch black you have absolutely no warning of when the rush will come. Managed to avoid being too much of a tourist, and buying all the junk on offer; but I did end up buying the various pictures they take of you on the rides. It was quite a contrast, Naomi freaking out at each photo point, and me just sitting there chilled and waiting for it to all be over. I guess I can be a little too calm at times.

Also found absolutely gorgeous stuff for my mate’s little girl. It was her birthday a week ago, but with exams etc I hadn’t got her present yet. The curtest t-shirts you can imagine. And I bought my usual shot glass for the shelf….I was impressed at how reasonably priced it all was, as I did walk in a little scared of the price-gouging about to be sprung on us.

The only drama of the day was AMEX keeping on blocking and declining!! Luckily I had my Visa, but not useful anyway. I rang them to query this and the automated service confirmed my balance that I thought I had, so I spoke to an operator who told me I only had $100?? So I asked him to compare the different answers. He did and advised me that I had double the balance the automation had advised!! So, I queried again. The best he could then say was that I had double available, but just to use only what I thought I had to be safe…. Anyway, it worked on and off throughout the day, with random declines here and there to keep me on my toes.

Off to return car tomorrow morning, and then to wander through South Bank for a morning coffee and along further, before heading into the CBD to check out all the massive sales that are on there.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

