lazing around today

Today was a lazy day. Caught up on tracking my money while away, and spreadsheeted it all. Then just chilled around house, had some lunch and laxed out. Headed into town mid-afternoon, and the ride was brilliant. Caught a bus in, and I was totally impressed at how organised and efficient the whole public bus “ordeal” is in Brisbane. They have a parallel motorway next to the motorway, just for buses; and it even has traffic-lit intersections etc for the buses. The journey into town lasted around 15 minutes, and I would estimate doing the samein a car would take at least 20 minutes before having to find parking etc. The buses were clean, air-conditioned and staffed by a fantastically pleasant and helpful driver.

That done, we headed to Hertz on foot to resolve my AMEX issues….it turns out after multiple phonecalls to AMEX this morning, that Hertz has elected to put a hold on my AMEX in the amount of our car hire fees. When we returned the car and paid for it with a different card, Hertz doesn’t bother to un-hold my AMEX! I finally got someone on the phone via visiting a Hertz office, and it turns out he could help until he realised my card was a New Zealand issued one….somehow this prevented him from being able to contact AMEX, so he would try to do something. Pretty poor, I say, given that they are stopping me from using my CC until the block comes off my card

in about five working days

instead of being as proactive about removing the block, as they are about placing the block in the first place.

Anyway, enough grizzling. We just went to SunCorp Stadium to watch the mighty New Zealand Warriors play the Brisbane Broncos at home. Not the best game I’ve ever seen, but it had its exciting moments and its frustrating ones too. Final score was 28-14 Broncos, however the game should have been a lot tighter, and possibly gone to the Warriors. There was one try, which even the Aussie in our group agreed was, that was disallowed for an unknown reason; as well as some silly errors by the Warriors, which let the Broncos off a few times.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

