[insert title here]

I just felt like using that as a title today. Hmmm. Found this cool picture of the difference between Pixar and DreamWorks. Kinda says it all doesn’t it. While you’re at it, check out the short films on Pixar’s site….definitely worth not doing any work for an hour or so.

Also, this is just AWESOME!! They seriously need to actually make this movie: TRANSFORMINATORS….

I’d pay good money to go see that, and I think you would too.

Just been to a leture this morning on how to generate codes. Kinda flat really, and not that stimulating. I find the texts much more interesting, as you can see a bit more of the history and context of the content. I also realised today that I was in a room full of foreigners, being lectured to by a teaching staff of foreigners, and then we wonder why New Zealanders don’t push themselves. We are a bit of a nation of slackers in general. We have some achievers, but, y’know. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with foreigners. Actually, one of my lecturers was a senior research scientist at the Russian Institute for Optical Studies or something. Basically, in the 1970’s he was involved in analysing satellite imagery of US bases and processing it through software he wrote to get real data out of it. I am glad that we do actually have world experts teaching us this stuff, and people who have used it for real-life scenarios too.

And then I stumbled upon this gem, and I really mean gem, of a YouTube flick. Validation – because you are great!

I’m pulling together a whole lot of stuff today, catching up on what I’ve missed over the past week due to being sick. I was intending to tidy everything, and get all prepped for semester, as well as semi-launch sites etc. Now assignments are loading up, and I’ve also got Google CodeJam to prep for too; so good times ahead. I’ve also been glancing at some of the thoughts floating around regarding HTML5 and the influence/impact it will have. Particularly interesting was this article (from January 2009) by Steve Smith. It gives a nice summary of what is happening, and also some guidance as to how to handle compatibility/incompatibility issues and how to future-proof sites as you are building them now.

I’m also getting more inspired to customise my own WordPress theme and host it myself, because I’m still not entirely happy with the aesthetics and thematics of how my code snippets and other components display. I changed to this theme the other day, and it’s ok, but not “what I would envision”.

Anyways, back into the study and assignments, so enough of my wiffle ’til tomorrow.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

