quick update: great recipe

I just made myself dinner (no, that’s not news!) and I thought I’d share the recipe quickly. It’s nothing flash, and is made from fresh vegetables, as well as some nice “fresh” tinned product. Anyway, it all came together in under half an hour and was healthy, nourishing, and filling. As well as having left-overs for work tomorrow.

Here goes:

  • one whole leak (fresh)
  • 300-400 g whole washed baby potatoes (fresh)
  • two large white onions
  • 500-600 g pure beef mince (fresh)
  • two tins diced fresh tomatoes with basil
  • one tin mixed beans
  • two tsp cinnamon sugar

So, rough chop the potatoes into cubes (ish) and steam them until nicely soft, but not mushy.

Meanwhile, rough chop the onions and the leak, before tossing in an oiled pan until starting to brown. Half-way to brown toss in the mixed beans.

Once browned, remove the vegetables from the pan, and add in the mince. Keep turning the mince until brown adding the cinnamon sugar over it, then add the vegtables back in. Pour over the tins of diced tomatoes, and turn down to simmer for 5 minutes once mixed through.

Take a good sized dinner bowl, lay a bed of the steamed potatoes, and cover with the mince. Top with grated parmesan cheese if you like.

Like I said, nothing flash, but a good basic meal which is very filling and nutritious, and doesn’t take long to pull together either.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

