Been busy, here’s a catch up

I haven’t posted much this week as I had mad assignments (still going on) and tests (more of those coming too….), but the weekend is here now, so time to share the love again. My birthday is coming up on Wednesday this week, but I’m delaying celebrating it properly until the beginning of September so I can focus on assignments and tests pre mid-semester break. I’m being cheeky this year and setting up a Donate with PayPal link over on the right. HEHEHE!! It’ll let you donate a little something something to my birthday kitty using the security of PayPal (it goes through bit.ly because the link keeps breaking and reformatting, but it is safe). Anyway, enough of being selfish. I had a bit of fun with assignments this week. One in particular was “stimulating”. I was building a WBMP to PNG converter in C#, which in itself was not dramatic, however I kept getting funky skewing on some images. I eventually figured it out – it was “human error” (ie Cameron’s stupidity) and me forgetting to allow for the buffer bits in the byte stream….a simple %8 revision fixed that, but it took me forever to realise what I hadn’t done. Just polishing off an HTTP proxy server for that one at the moment actually.

Otherwise, Google has just set up a nice resource for developers and small business owners alike. They’ve blogged about it here, and this has all the links to the various levels of resource. Very useful this, so I’ll be visiting fairly regularly I feel.

Also, a mate of mine from uni and I were chatting today, and he mentioned a Squid App he’d written to easily allow users to change permission within a GUI, without needing to change everything and play with the whole config file. It’s up on SourceForge [link here], so have a look and go back and review if you like it. We did notice that he’s had over 2000 downloads, and no-one has bothered to come back and say “Yay” or “Nay” about it. Simon did mention that he wrote it and posted it while still at school, so the code is a bit “ugly”, but that said, it works and the GUI is fine.

I’ll be collating my thoughts a bit over tonight and the ‘morrow, so there should be something fairly well written and posted by the end of the weekend.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

