it’s been almost a week

So, I’ve been tweeting (here), but not managing to get a chance to conpile an actual blog post for the last 6 days. Logged in today and felt the waves of guilt wash over me….the past 6 days have just been a melange of tests, assignments, and work; then the weekend hit and I was busy with the UA Careers and Courses Open Day, before being a good grandson and visiting my grandmother. Since she moved back up to Whangaparoa, it’s been harder to just pop by as it involves booking out at least half a day. When she was living just up the road, I would pop in every day or two on my way too or from uni, so contact level was awesome – phone-calls just don’t cut it in my opinion.

I was working as ademonstrator and advisor (mainly directions to lecture theatres) for the Computer Science Department for the UA Open Day. It was a good bit of fun to have, and also nice to actually be able to give back into the department and faculty that I’ve been learning so much from (not with-standing my last post). I’d love to be one of the success stories that get brought back tospeak to students in a year or two; but, until I pull off my own Noah Everett, Biz Stone or Larry Page action I don’t see that happening immediately.

Sunday was a chilled out day, and yesterday (Monday) I disconnected from the internet and sat in the park at One Tree Hill reading my course readings for my ANZIIF certification. I’m doing a paper through the Australia New Zealand Insurance and Finance Institute on the side, just because 5 papers at uni may not be enough!!

Looking forward to finally making it to some movies over the next week or too as well. On the list are: Inglourious Basterds, G.I. Joe, and Case 39. I’m also hanging out for this little piece of awesomeness; it looks like it can’t lose:

With George Clooney, Ewan McGregor, Jeff Bridges, and Kevin Spacey; any movie about the “true story” of the Psychic Warrior division of the US Army has to win.

Oh, and I’ve saved it til now, but Apple has just confirmed a mystery launch event set for September 9. dun dun dun….Apple iTablet?? I think the Apple netbook will be mid to late November for Christmas shoppers….so that leaves us with the iTablet being launched September 9. We shall just have to wait another 8 days to find out. Unfortunately my fa=inances will not be allowing me to be first out the gate to splash out on whatever it is, but it will be great to see anyway. On that note, if anybody at Apple wants me to trial and field test any products for them, I’m always available – and I’ll do it for free!!

I don’t really have much else to say or post at present, but now that I’m back in the flow; there will be more.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

