procrastination, that’s what I do

So, I am currently “doing an assignment”. It’s actually frustrating how banal they can make an otherwise interesting subject….it’s meant to be a database paper, however we spend more time being forced to use a tool/software than we do actually dong database work. The current assignment could be done in about 10 lines of SQL, but it’s, so far, taking days to get part way through it. It is even starting to make me dislike DBs (joking!!).

It’s now the final week of lectures at uni, and then it’ll be exam time. My final set of exams for this degree too!! I’ve already started contemplating returning in a year or so to do a Masters in International Business, but first I need to get back into the real world and earn some $$. Also get sqwi.sh fully running, and then the other few sites too. That should hopefully be pretty much done by Christmas….

I’ll just insert a lovely couple of mixes by d-t3ch here, they’ve even got sampling from Entourage in one!!

Men at Work, Land Down-Under. We’re gonna get drunk with Russell Crowe, we’re gonna head-butt some kangaroos!

Anyways, I’m just polishing the API for sqwi.sh then that can go public. I’ve got a couple of sites by other people already waiting to use the API which is very cool. I found an excellent discussion of implementing an API for your web service here. And I’ll be doing a bit of my own one as well, because I have tricked up a few things that aren’t mentioned in that tutorial.

Once assignments are over at the end of this week, I’ve got the IEEE Extreme Coding competition this weekend. 24 hours of code!!! We just get in there and code, sleep in lab if we need to, and code some more. I’m gonna be giving a big shout-out to Mountain Dew and Red Bull for my team, and if either of those lovely companies want to send me some freebies, I’ll ignore the other from now on…..

I suppose I should get back into the assignment now, but at least I got a little bit of procrastination out of the way. I’ll be getting a bit more regular with my posts again over the next week or so.

I’ve got a couple of sites by other people already waiting to use the API which is very cool. I found an excellent discussion of implementing an API for your web service here. And I’ll be doing a bit of my own one as well, because I have tricked up a few things that aren’t mentioned in that tutorial.
Once assignments are over at the end of this week, I’ve got the IEEE Extreme Coding competition this weekend. 24 hours of code!!! We just get in there and code, sleep in lab if we need to, and code some more. I’m gonna be giving a big shout-out to Mountain Dew and Red Bull for my team, and if either of those lovely companies want to send me some freebies, I’ll ignore the other from now on…..
I suppose I should get back into the assignment now, but at least I got a little bit of procrastination out of the way. I’ll be getting a bit more regular with my posts again over the next week or so.
About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

