iPhone SDK news, and why I may own a Mac soon

Some more apple news floating around these days…other than the imminent US release of the iPad on April 3rd, it’s now been discovered that the latest iPhone SDK appears to be preparing to allow third-party multitasking!! [engadget.com link] (although my thoughts is that if the iPhone OS is also for the iPad, then Apple may be having multi-tasking accessible on the iPad and not the iPhone… you heard it here first), and then DARPA has announced that they are looking for expressions of interest developing apps and an App Store for Android and the iPhone OS. The apps can be for battlefield, humanitarian, and disaster recovery missions, including command and control, mission planning, surveillance, reconnaissance, and language translation. And they’re even planning to bring their own cell-towers with them to create a "secure mobile tactical network … compatible with commercial smartphones." [engadget again]

I’ve been scoping out Mac prices with the imminent coming of the iPad. While I’m still not desperate for an iPhone (“sacrilege” I hear some of you scream), the form factor and potential for the iPad has me a little more excited. Still a while away on the release of iPad here in good ol’ NZ, which is good ‘cause it’ll give me time to put some more thought into it.

Having been sick most of this week, I haven’t really done any dev/coding work or posted. Then again, I haven’t done anything worth posting either.

I do like the new HP ad campaign though, with NZ’s own Rhys Darby kicking it with Dr Dre.

 

And to end, I’d like to point out that I have managed to not post a single thing about the Oscars this year!!

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

