what about me??

I haven’t posted for a bit, been busy at work and job hunting, and I have to admit that blogging has not been a priority of my internet usage. The job hunt has been plodding along, however no luck so far. Everybody wants someone with 5 years experience, which starts to become oxymoronic after a while. I’ve had a few “great” responses from consultants; however I can see why they are consultants. To paraphrase, they say

you have an extremely solid CV, one of the better ones I’ve seen, and you would be perfect for this role, however

and this is where it comes out

you need more technical

I have been bold enough to ask them to put me forward anyway, even with a caveat on my CV when they present it. With my logic being that they have acknowledged that I am not exactly what is being looked for (covered their butt) but are still allowing the client to make the call, as even the consultant agrees I would be perfect!!!

Still, not allowing it to get me despondent.

Meanwhile, I have continued pulling together a business concept of mine; I had a fantastic business meeting about it last week, and received some extremely positive feedback and guidance. My proof of concept is pretty much nailed, and I’m going visiting some hardware suppliers this week and next to look at moving to the implementation stage.

From here it’ll be taking it to the potential clients and pushing for implementation. If it works, it will really work, in that if the client implements it once, they’ll implement it as much as they can; and, as it is a monthly revenue stream with the ability for the client to pass the cost on to their clients easily, it should hopefully be a win-win scenario. Obviously, I’m not going to say much, however I do think it is a viable (and necessary) product/service, so I’m feeling confident.

I’ll be putting up some mini-tutorials over the next day or two, as I actually get back into the swing of it. Mainly they’ll just be some helpful functions to refer to and automate some tasks.

Cheers, Cameron

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

