Long-board ‘idiot’ makes the news

Bit of a tanty going on over here in New Zealand today. The New Zealand Herald reports that some Canadian long-board riders were very naughty…(Long-board ‘idiot’ hurtles down Bombay Hills) because they “overtook a truck-and-trailer unit at up to 100km/h” on a downhill. Now, I’ve watched the video (posted below), and I agree they were going bloody fast, but knowing the stretch of road they were on, and based on the fact that the truck overtakes them a minute later on the same downhill (so the long-boarders haven’t slowed yet) I’m pretty sure the truck would only have been doing about 60km/h at the time.

It all came to light when the original video was posted on the facebook page of one of the boarders.

Anyways, they look pretty skilled and experienced, and they are travelling the world long-boarding, so I’m thinking the media should be more focussed on the important issues; instead of scandalising and hyping this. What are the chances that some inexperienced, newbie long-boarder gives it a go now and wipes out?? Hmm, food for thought.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

