quick update – re-discovering dial-up internet

Ah, the good ol’ days when 128kb/s was fast, and 56kb/s was normal. I made a boo-boo last week; not realising that our data plan had been changed, I happily sat around downloading new operating systems, software, and all sorts of stuff to build a new box as a media center. Ignoring the fact that I probably had all the software on HDs somewhere, I pulled it all off the intrawebz again. BIG mistake, BIG!!

The glories of New Zealand are such that we pay ridiculous sums of money for our internetz, and even pay at all for our mobile data. The new plan for my house (as it’s just me here at present) turns out to be fixed price, but once your hit your cap you move to dial-up speeds. WOW!! I had no idea dial-up was so slow! Seriously, if broadband hadn’t come about we wouldn’t have e-commerce. It takes me forever to load my emails, and forget about just normal browsing if you have anything else to do that day. iTunes doesn’t even realise I have internet OK, slight exaggeration), or at least it times out every request it makes.

This is not a bitch and moan session, it’s just that having dial-up only has made me realise:

  1. how much I use the internet
  2. how much everyone else uses the internet
  3. how much our daily lives are dependent upon the internet
  4. how AWESOME an advance broadband is/was

So, for those in New Zealand still demanding all sorts of cost/benefit analysis reports on whether ultra-fast broadband is a good plan for New Zealand, go read Chris Barton’s feature. I tell you what, I agreed with him anyway, but revisiting dial-up gives a whole new perspective to what the internet does for communication, commerce, and pretty much everything.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

One Response to quick update – re-discovering dial-up internet

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention quick update – re-discovering dial-up internet « whileloop -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

