my first code submission!!

I finally submitted my first bit of code to the main SVN repository today. Absolute feeling of accomplishment, even though it was nothing special and is only for automated testing of the product. I guess the main thing was that I finally feel like I have done something here, rather than just sucking and absorbing things. That was based on a completed tracking sheet, and now I’m onto my own tracking sheet from scratch. I’m hands-on, head-first into the source code now. In terms of this next task, the pseudo code is only four lines at most, but there’s obviously a lot more to it in the end.

First step is just getting into the code and understanding what is going on there. I had a good rummage around and then got stuck into making something happen (or not happen in this case – I’m wanting to prevent some events). It should have been a 15 minute code effort, however my explorations into the code itself took a bit of time as I hunted out the bits I needed to refer to as well as the best place to implement my code (ie at certain button events, or as part of the confirmation/approval of various requests).

That’s done though, with approval and submission tomorrow morning; but, I’m definitely a lot more into the swing now and feeling like I’m actually getting my head into it and about to start contributing properly in the future. The first week is always the worst, with volumes of information thrown at you and no context for it. This week I feel like the context is being provided, so the information starts to have relevance and a life of its own.

About Cameron
I'm a final year Computer Science/Information Systems major. Already finished my BA in Politics/Philosophy. I do web and software freelance on the side, while I finish studying. Hoping to be self-employed by the end of my degree, otherwise off into the real-world I go....

Leave a Reply

